Picture
This morning, a friend of mine shared an article about actor, Ashton Kutcher landing in the hospital after adopting a "fuitarian" diet for an upcoming film. He suggested that it might be a good blog topic. And I agree. 
If you haven't seen it yet, here is a link to the article: http://marquee.blogs.cnn.com/2013/01/28/all-fruit-diet-lands-ashton-kutcher-in-the-hospital/
First of all, without knowing the specifics of what Kutcher was eating, it's impossible to determine if his hospitalization was due to fruit consumption alone. And I highly suspect it wasn't. Actors have been known to go to extremes for specific roles. We don't know the amount of fruit he was eating, if his fruit was properly ripe, if he was restricting his calories, making bad food combining decisions (such as consuming high amounts of fat via nuts & seeds directly before, after or with a fruit meal) or if he was supplementing his diet with any form of stimulants etc.
Also, he was complaining of pancreatic inflammation, which is not commonly caused by fruit (sugar) intake. Rather, causes of pancreatitis tend toward high levels of triglycerides (fat) in the bloodstream, certain types of drugs including commonly prescribed antibiotics like tetracycline, chronic alcohol abuse, gallstones, hereditary diseases such as cystic fibrosis, prior abdominal surgeries and pancreatic abnormalities like cancer. 
Kutcher also feared his diet was the culprit as he was mimicking Steve Jobs lifestyle, who had not long ago died of a rare form of pancreatic cancer. It's important to remember that Jobs had cancer before adopting a fruitarian diet. The high fruit intake did not cause his cancer and for all we know, it may have added years to his life. Also, Steve Jobs was known to supplement his high fruit lifestyle with soy products and high sugar fruit juices, which is not conducive to achieving optimal results.
Here is a great testimonial video showing true and amazing results of a high fruit (carb), low fat lifestyle, long term. I know some of these people. Oh, and my adorable boyfriend is in there too. Can you spot him? His name is Jeremy Paradis.*shameless plug* And you can see more of him and other fruitarians on his page Ripped Raw Vegans --> https://www.facebook.com/rippedrawvegans?fref=ts

Anatomy of a Fruitarian Diet

I've also been asked to share examples of what & when I eat in a given day as a fruitarian (aka: low fat raw vegan, high carb raw vegan, 80/10/10 - I'll get into the name specifics another time)
On an optimal day, meaning I've gotten adequate rest and have been active through some form of exercise; I will try to consume between 2500 - 3000 calories. Yes, that much! This is a completely non restrictive lifestyle, and will help your body achieve proper weight loss or gain depending on your needs. You can eat as much as you want. And it produces heaps of energy. You'll be astounded by how many circles you can run around your sluggish friends.
I typically start my day with hydration. I like to get in between 3-4 liters of water a day. It's so important to stay hydrated. Bye-bye dry winter skin.  
I begin most days with rebounding (mini-trampoline) between 15-20 minutes. Rebounding is great for moving your lymph. And I'll touch on that in another blog. Then, I consume my first liter of water. Breakfast is usually a 6-8 banana smoothie. Bananas are a great staple because they're high in calories (energy) and bananas are high in potassium (about 600 mg per medium banana), which is an important mineral and electrolyte necessary for muscular function and digestion. Potassium also helps balance the effects of sodium on your body. As other natural plant foods, bananas contain fiber (3 grams in a medium-sized one). Bananas also contain vitamins A, B, E, K and C as well as 6 mcg of folic acid, which is essential for red blood cell formation.  All of this comes in a tasty package that has about 105 calories with 0 grams of fat. 

I generally keep my smoothies relatively simple. 3 ingredients. Bananas, another fruit (usually frozen) such as berries or peaches and a green like spinach or kale. So yummy and easy. 
Lunch is usually either a mono fruit meal (meaning all one fruit) like bananas, oranges, dates or watermelon. And then dinner is a big salad. I keep the dressing simple too and relatively low fat. Sometimes it's just lemon and fresh herbs or something like blended tomato with basil. If I am having overt fats, I have them with dinner as it allows the body time at the end of the day to efficiently metabolize them. Some days I add some avocado to my salad or tahini or walnuts.
Snacks between meals are usually just fruit. And I hydrate throughout the day, but I allow adequate time before or after meals. Liquids can dilute your meal and slow down digestion.
By keeping meals simple, digestion stays simple and regular. No indigestion, gas, heartburn or discomfort.
Although, this is what a bulk of my intake looks like, I do vary it up with interesting recipes. Like raw zucchini pastas or things like chocolate/ blueberry mousse pie. Mmmm. 

I'll start posting food pics and sharing recipes soon.


All in all, I hope this blog helped you appreciate that fruit is not evil. It's nature's perfect food and is here for us to enjoy and thrive on.


Have a fruity day!

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.