Picture
Anyone remember that show? In the 90's? On TGIF? With Suzanne Somers? Well anyway, this isn't about that. It's about keepin' on keepin' on.
Some days are just not easy. And sometimes we slip up. And that's okay.
If you fall off your wagon, you get back on. You don't give up. Just like if you're hiking a mountain, and you trip on a rock, you don't go to the bottom and start over. You keep ascending. 
This past week has been a prime example for me. I goofed. And I ate some things I shouldn't have. This was my own fault, because I wasn't properly stocked up on enough high carb fruit. And when there aren't enough carbs, that's when the cravings start. For salty things and fatty things. And I had a few things I shouldn't have. No big whoop. I had a little too much overt fat and a little too much sodium. And for a few days I was gassy and I had some new breakouts. The good news is, I learned my lesson. I'm listening to my body and I'm back on the high carb fruit train. No more cutting corners.
It's funny how much our bodies can endure and yet how delicate they really are. With a cleaner engine, I become much more aware of how well I'm "working". If I eat too much of the wrong thing, I can immediately sense my body protecting itself. Phlegm for example, is a good indication that something isn't right. As soon as I eat a high fat meal, I get phlegmy. And all phlegm really is is a mass of white blood cells rushing in to protect the body from an irritant. Namely, fatty food... or a virus. Another example is, waking up in the morning and finding "sleepy seeds" in the corners of my eyes. A sign of too much sodium. When I used to eat high fat, high sodium foods in the past, I wasn't in tune with these signals. Because my body was so used to coping with what I was putting into it, it adapted. But now, when my body is clean and free of pollution, the slightest alteration puts my senses on high alert. The beauty of this, is how amazing I am capable of feeling. How being so in tune can allow me to really feel vibrant, supple, energetic. If I'm eating well, my body lets me know and rewards me in kind. 
Regardless of my slip-ups over the week, I am down 5 pounds and no more muffin top. The belly is pretty flat too. Oh happy day! Time for a smoothie.

I wish you a beautiful, bountiful week.
Love & blessings,


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.